To Reach Martin


phone: 605-845-6710

About Martin


 Fishing experience: I have been fishing since the age of 4, providing me 49 years of fishing to continually learn.  I grew up in Webster, SD, where I waded miles of shorelines fishing for walleye, white bass, northern pike or anything else that would bite.  I am fortunate that my father loves the outdoors as much as I do. He seemed to always have time to take me fishing.

Guiding Experience and Pro-Staff

I have taken people fishing for many years.  My first trips on Lake Oahe took place in 1989, and I've fished the lake through periods of high and low water. Lake Oahe is a great place to learn a variety of walleye fishing techniques, many of which I utilize on the Glacial Lakes near Webster.

Presently I am on the pro-staff for Lowrance Electronics and have been utilizing their equipment since my first boat purchase.  Lowrance's C-Map Genesis allows me to make my own maps like the one below.  The red lines, in the pic to the right, are my boat path.  I am also associated with Mercury Marine, Motor Guide, Mack's Lures, Reef-Runner and Berkley Fishing.


From 2009 to 2016 I fished an average of 4 tournaments a summer.  During that time I had 15 top 10 finishes,  Three wins and three 2nd place finishes topped them off.  

Wins were 2009 Mobridge Chamber Tourney, 2011 Grand River Casino Tourney, 2014 South Dakota Walleye Classic.  

Lots of Time with Youth

Future Anglers - Outdoors 101 Project

In 2008 I started a 501c3 non-profit organization with one goal in mind; getting families fishing.  What started as a thought, after I asked my students why they don't go fishing and their response was, "Nobody takes me", has now evolved into family fishing classes, high school fishing clubs and couples walleye tournaments.  I am so thankful that my father took me fishing.  If I can be what gets other to go, then all the work is worthwhile. Check out for more information.


I started teaching high school science in 1991 and still enjoy it today.  I spent six years teaching in Warner, SD.  Then we moved to Mobridge, SD, where I continuing to teach and started Experience Oahe Guide Service.  In 2016, we moved back to where I grew up, Webster SD.  It really is good to be home.  My wife, Deb, and I have three children.  Eric will be graduating from SDSU in May with a mechanical engineering degree.  Aryn is a freshmen at SDSU, going into psychology, with plans of getting her doctorate. Alexa is a HS sophomore.  She plans to go to SDSU and get a nursing degree.

Not Just Fishing

My first choice is fishing.  A close 2nd is hunting.  All three of my kids bowhunt.  We spend a lot of time afield and it does gives us something to do together. The pic to the right is my youngest daughter's first deer, age 10.  Suprisingly, none of them really like fishing....not sure what I did wrong.